A flower

Georgia O’Keeffe (1887-1986): Petunia No. 2 (1924)

Petunia No. 2, one of O’Keeffe’s first large-scale renderings of a flower, represents the beginning of her exploration of a theme that would mark her career. In this painting, she magnifies the flower’s form to emphasize its shape and color… She stated that “nobody really sees a flower – really – it is so small – we haven’t time – and to see takes time… So I said to myself – I’ll paint what I see – what the flower is to me but I’ll paint it big and they will be surprised into taking time to look at it.”Georgia O'Keeffe Petunia No. 2 (1924)

Leave a Reply

